Welcome page

Welcome to the MRI labs of the Institutes of Radiology and Neuroradiology!

In the MRI labs of the Institute of Radiology (Head: Prof. Michael Uder) and the Institute of Neuroradiology (Head: Prof. Arnd Dörfler) in Erlangen, we develop new imaging techniques for magnetic resonance imaging . We test these methods intensively and in close cooperation with physicians.

Projects

Again and again, we offer exciting Bachelor, Master and PhD projects.

A particularly nice feature of research in MRI is the wide range of possible topics:

  • Basic aspects of MR physics
    • Theoretical considerations
    • Computer simulations
  • Implementation of new MR sequences
    • At clinical MR-scanners (0.55 T to 7 T)
    • At preclinical MR-scanners (7 T)
  • Validations in measurement phantoms and healthy subjects
  • Translation into clinical studies together with clinical partners and the focus areas:
    • Oncology
    • Immunology
    • Renal and circulation research
    • Dementia and neuroscience
    • Muscular diseases
    • Medical technology
  • Advanced evaluation methods
    • Image reconstruction
    • Classic image processing
    • Neural networks / AI

Our MRI labs have different thematic focuses (see Lab pages). We work closely together on many projects and benefit from our different strengths and expertises.

Contact us if you are interested!


New MR techniques for breast cancer imaging (developed by our PhD student Mona Pistel)

New MR methods for contrast agent free imaging of epilepsy-related brain tumors (developed by our PhD students Angelika Mennecke and Moritz Fabian)

Teaching

We offer a wide range of courses. They prepare you optimally for projects in the field of MRI research, but also offer the opportunity to acquire comprehensive knowledge in the field of MRI, which will be of great benefit to you in other research projects and in industry.

We look forward to welcome you to our courses!


Lecture MRI 1 with Prof. Dr. Frederik Laun

Ultra High Field Imaging

A lot helps a lot. Sometimes this is indeed the case. In MRI, the signal-to-noise ratio increases with magnetic field strength. While clinical tomographs are usually operated with field strengths of 1.5 T or 3 T, clinical devices of the latest generation are also available with 7 T. Unfortunately, a higher field strength is often accompanied by increased image artifacts. For example, the wavelength of the transmitting field decreases with higher field strength, so that the images are inhomogeneous in intensity. We are working on overcoming these technical difficulties, establishing various MR techniques to 7 T scanners and being able to apply them in acceptable measurement time.

The 7 T Magnetom Terra Tomograph of the University Hospital Erlangen


Top: Inhomogeneous appearance due to the short transmit field wavelength at 7 T. Bottom: Parallel transmit techniques (ptx) increase the homogeneity of the intensity. (developed by our former PhD student Jürgen Herrler)

FAU Innovator Award for the ultrahigh field work on MR biosignatures by Alexander German conducted in the MR physics groups

Since 2020, the FAU has awarded a prize to outstanding pioneers and innovators in three categories. In 2022, Alexander German wins last year’s FAU Innovator Award in the student category with his work on single-voxel signatures in multi-spectral MR imaging. As part of his doctoral thesis in the research group Laun, he was able to show within a broad cooperation project between the MR physics research groups Zaiß and Nagel with the Department of Experimental Neurology (Prof. Jürgen Winkler) and the Institute of Neuroradiology (Prof. Arnd Dörfler) of the University Hospital Erlangen that a tissue-dependent MR biosignature can be determined by combining different ultra-high-field MR techniques and AI-supported evaluation methodology. This can be used to make predictions about tissue properties that are independent of spatial structure. The MR physics research groups provided essential previous work on the techniques and sequences used. For example, special diffusion techniques, parallel imaging and novel CEST methods were combined in the work of Alexander German. For this, he already received the first Gorter Award at the annual meeting of German Chapter of the ISMRM in 2021 (read here).

FAU Innovator 2022 in der Kategorie Studierende Alex German

Congratulations to Mona Pistel and co-authors on the recently published article "Stability of Radiomic Features against Variations in Lesion Segmentations Computed on Apparent Diffusion Coefficient Maps of Breast Lesions"! Diffusion-weighted imaging combined with radiomics can help differentiate ...

Category: AG Laun, Allgemein, Startseite

Startseite

Willkommen bei den MRT-Labs des Radiologischen und des Neuroradiologischen Institutes!

In den MRT-Labs des Radiologischen Institutes (Leitung: Prof. Michael Uder) und des Neuroradiologischen Instituts (Leitung: Prof. Arnd Dörfler) aus Erlangen werden neue Bildgebungsverfahren für die Magnetresonanztomographie entwickelt. Diese werden intensiv und in enger Kooperation mit Medizinerinnen und Medizinern erprobt.

Projekte

Wir bieten immer wieder spannende Projekte für Bachelorarbeiten, Masterarbeiten und Promotionen an.

Schön an der MRT ist hierbei die große Bandbreite an möglichen Themen:

  • Grundlegende Aspekte der MR-Physik
    • Theoretische Betrachtungen
    • Computersimulationen
  • Implementierung neuer MR-Sequenzen
    • An klinischen MR-Tomographen (0,55 T bis 7 T)
    • An präklinischen MR-Tomographen (7 T)
  • Validierungen in Messphantomen und gesunden Probanden
  • Translation in klinische Studien zusammen mit klinischen Partnern und den Schwerpunkten:
    • Onkologie
    • Immunologie
    • Nieren- und Kreislaufforschung
    • Demenz und Neurowissenschaften
    • Muskelerkrankungen
    • Medizintechnologie
  • Fortgeschrittene Auswertemethoden
    • Bildrekonstruktion
    • Klassische Bildbearbeitung
    • Neuronale Netze

Unsere MRT-Labs haben dabei thematisch unterschiedliche Schwerpunkte (siehe Lab-Seiten). In vielen Projekten arbeiten wir eng zusammen und profitieren dabei von unseren unterschiedlichen Stärken und Expertisen.

Kontaktieren Sie uns bei Interesse!


Neue MR-Techniken für die Brustkrebs-Bildgebung (entwickelt von unserer Doktorandin Mona Pistel)

Neue MR-Methoden u.a. für die kontrastmittelfreie Bildgebung von Epilepsie-relevanten Hirntumoren (entwickelt von unserer wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterin Angelika Mennecke und unserem Doktoranden Moritz Fabian)

Lehre

Wir bieten ein umfangreiches Lehrangebot an. Dieses bereitet Sie optimal auf Projekte bei uns vor, aber bietet Ihnen ebenfalls die Möglichkeit umfassende Kenntnisse im Bereich der MRT zu erwerben, die Ihnen in anderen Forschungsprojekten und in der Industrie von großem Nutzen sein werden.

Wir freuen uns, Sie bei unseren Lehrveranstaltungen begrüßen zu dürfen!


Vorlesung MRT 1 mit Prof. Dr. Frederik Laun

Ultrahochfeldbildgebung

Viel bringt viel. Manchmal ist dies tatsächlich so. In der MRT steigt das Signal-zu-Rausch Verhältnis mit der Magnetfeldstärke. Während klinische Tomographen üblicherweise mit den Feldstärken 1.5 T oder 3 T betrieben werden, sind klinische Geräte der neuesten Generation auch mit 7 T verfügbar. Die höhere Feldstärke geht leider oft mit verstärkten Bildartefakten einher. Beispielsweise sinkt die Wellenlänge des Sendefeldes mit höherer Feldstärke, sodass die Bilder inhomogen ausgeleuchtet sind. Wir arbeiten daran, diese technischen Schwierigkeiten zu überwinden, vielfältige MR-Techniken am 7 T Tomographen zu etablieren und diese in annehmbarer Messzeit anwenden zu können.

Der 7 T Magnetom Terra Tomograph des Universitätsklinikums Erlangen


Oben: Inhomogene Ausleuchtung aufgrund der kurzen Sendefeld-Wellenlänge bei 7 T. Unten: Durch parallele Sendetechniken (ptx) wird die Ausleuchtung homogen (entwickelt von unserem ehemaligen Doktoranden Jürgen Herrler)

FAU Innovator-Preis für die Ultrahochfeld-Arbeit über MR-Biosignaturen von Alexander German aus der MR-Physik

Seit 2020 vergibt die FAU einen Preis an besondere Vordenker und Wegbereiterinnen in drei Kategorien. 2022 gewinnt Alexander German mit seiner Arbeit über Einzelvoxel Signaturen in der multispektralen MR Bildgebung in der Kategorie Studierende die diesjährige FAU Innovator Auszeichnung. Im Rahmen seiner Promotionsarbeit in der Arbeitsgruppe Laun konnte er innerhalb eines breiten Kooperationsprojektes der MR-Physik Gruppen Zaiß und Nagel mit dem Department der Experimentellen Neurologie (Prof. Jürgen Winkler) und dem Institut der Neuroradiologie (Prof. Arnd Dörfler) des Universitätsklinikums Erlangen zeigen, dass durch die Verbindung verschiedener Ultrahochfeld-MR-Techniken und KI-gestützter Auswertemethodik eine gewebeabhängige MR-Biosignatur ermittelt werden kann. Diese lässt sich nutzen, um Aussagen über von der räumlichen Struktur unabhängige Gewebeeigenschaften zu treffen. Die MR-Physik Gruppen stellten dabei essentielle Vorarbeiten zu den verwendeten Techniken und Sequenzen bereit. So wurden beispielsweise spezielle Diffusionsverfahren, parallele Sendetechniken und neuartige CEST Methoden in der Arbeit von Alexander German kombiniert. Dafür erhielt er bereits 2021 den ersten Gorter-Preis auf der jährlichen Tagung der DS-ISMRM (hier nachlesen).

FAU Innovator 2022 in der Kategorie Studierende Alex German

In dieser Arbeit (https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1002/mrm.30055) stellen Jonathan Endres und Co-Autoren einen analytischen Bloch-Simulationsansatz für die Simulation beliebiger MRT-Sequenzen vor, die sogenannten Phase Distribution Graphs. Es handelt sich dabei um eine allgemeine Umsetzu...

Kategorie: AG Zaiss, Allgemein, Startseite